

Tetrahedron: Asymmetry 14 (2003) 3079

Publisher's announcement

Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry 2003

The Executive Board of Editors for Tetrahedron Publications is pleased to announce that for 2003, the Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry has been awarded jointly to Professor Robert H. Grubbs, Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA, USA and to Professor Dieter Seebach, Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences, ETH Zentrum, Zürich, Switzerland.

The Prize was awarded in recognition of their groundbreaking contributions to the development of new synthetic methods of exceptional practical value and to the design and synthesis of macromolecules leading to biologically significant neopeptide structures and to new polymeric materials.

Professor Robert H. Grubbs was born in Kentucky, USA. He received both BS and MS degrees from the University of Florida, Gainesville and a PhD from Columbia University, New York (R. Breslow). After postdoctoral research at Stanford University (J. P. Collman), he became Assistant Professor, then Associate Professor at Michigan State University. In 1978, he was appointed Professor of Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology, Los Angeles. Since 1990, he has held the Victor and Elizabeth Atkins Chair in Chemistry at Caltech. Professor Grubbs is a Fellow of the Academy of

Arts and Sciences, a Member of the National Academy of Sciences and a Honorary Member of the Royal Irish Academy in the Section of Science. He has received many awards including The Nagoya Medal of Organic Chemistry, The Herman F. Mark Polymer Chemistry Award, the Herbert C. Brown Award for Creative Research in Synthetic Methods and the Arthur C. Cope Award, the last three being ACS awards.

Professor Dieter Seebach was born in Karlsruhe, Germany. He studied chemistry at the University of Karlsruhe at BSc and PhD level (supervisor R. Criegee). After having spent 2 years as postdoctoral associate at Harvard (E. J. Corey), where he was also appointed as lecturer, he then returned to Karlsruhe to prepare his Habilitation, which he earned in 1969. In 1971, he was called to the Justus Liebig University in Giessen, Germany and in 1977 to ETH Zürich, the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule or Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. Professor Seebach is a Member of the German Academy of Natural Science Research Leopoldina and a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences and Literature in Mainz. He has received a great number of Awards, including the Roger Adams Award (ACS) 1999, the King Faisal Prize 1999 for Science, the Yamada Prize 2000 (Japan), and the Marcel Benoist-Preis (Switzerland) 2000, considered to be the highest distinction awarded to a scientist by the Swiss government.



Professor R. H. Grubbs, Tetrahedron Prize, 2003.



Professor D. Seebach, Tetrahedron Prize, 2003.